Monday, May 6, 2013

GE13 Results: Update 8

Just to provide for the last time, the other details whom I have an interest in to wrap up the final GE13 results.

In Kuala Lumpur, DAP emerged victorious by winning all five parliamentary seats it contested, namely in Kepong, Segambut, Bukit Bintang, Seputeh and Cheras.

In Selangor, DAP again won all four parliamentary seats (i.e. Puchong, Serdang, PJ Utara and Klang) as well as all fifteen state seats.

Likewise, in Perak, its seven candidates won with good margins of votes in the federal seats of Taiping, Ipoh Timor, Ipoh Barat, Batu Gajah, Beruas, Kampar and Telok Intan. Also all eighteen state seats it contested.

In Negeri Sembilan, the party made a clean sweep of all the two parliamentary and 11 state seats it contested. The additional seat it won was Chennah, which was previously held by MCA.

In Malacca, the DAP’s Sim Tong Him retained the Kota Melaka parliamentary seat, but failed in its bid for the Alor Gajah constituency. As for the state seats, it won 6 out of the 8 it contested. 

In Johore, besides Gelang Patah, DAP candidates also won Kluang, Bakri and Kulai, but lost in Labis and Tanjong Piai (The margin of loss was 353 and 5,457 votes respectively).

In Pahang, DAP lost two federal seats of Cameron Highlands and Bentong but did manage to win in Raub. It seems that BN didn't win by 80 votes in Cameron as earlier reported but 462 votes. In Bentong, DAP's Wong Tack lost by just 379 votes. But DAP's Mohd Ariff Sabri Abdul Aziz won in Raub when he walloped MCA's Hoh Khai Mun (DAP – 23,415, BN – 20,601, Majority – 2,814). The party won all 7 seats it contested.

In Kedah, DAP did not put any candidates for the parliamentary seats – only two state seats which it won. Similarly in Perlis, only one state seat was contested which it lost.

In Penang, DAP won all 7 federal and 19 state seats it contested. The former are Bagan, Bukit Mertajam, Batu Kawan, Tanjong, Jelutong, Bukit Gelugor and Bukit Bendera.

In Sabah, DAP won in Kota Kinabalu and Sandakan, but failed in Sepanggar and Putatan. It also won 4 state seats but lost another four.

While voters in Sarawak, especially in Bandar Kuching, Stampin, Lanang, Sarikei and Sibu picked DAP candidates as their representatives in Parliament, those in Mas Gading, Serian, Mukah, Kapit, Bintulu and Lawas constituencies chose BN.

The DAP candidates who did well include the following: Teo Nie Ching (Kulai) who won by 13,450 votes, Liew Chin Tong (Kluang) by 7.359 votes, Tony Pua (PJ Utara) by 44,672 votes, Gobind Singh Deo (Puchong) by 32,802 votes, Kasthuriraani Patto (Batu Kawan) by 25,962 votes, and Karpal Singh (Bukit Gelugor) by 41,778 votes.  

PKR candidates who won handsomely include Abdul Khalid Ibrahim (Bandar Tun Razak) by 11,832 votes, R Sivarasa (Subang) by  26,719 votes,  Mohd Rafizi Ramli (Pandan) by 26,729 votes, William Leong (Selayang) by 17,846 votes, Wong Chen (Kelana Jaya) by 28,827 votes, Dr Tan Kwee Kwong (Wangsa Maju) by 5,511 votes, Tian Chua (Batu) by 13,284 votes), Surendran Nagarajan (Padang Serai) by  8,437 votes, and Nurul Izzah Anwar (Lembah Pantai) by 1,847 votes.

Triumphant PAS candidates whom I tracked include Khalid Abdul Samad (Shah Alam) who garnered a majority of  10,939 votes and Siti Mariah Mahmud (Kota Raja) who won by 29,395 votes. Those who lost include Dzulkefly Ahmad (Kuala Selangor) by a mere 460 votes and Mohamad Sabu (Pendang) by 2,638 votes.

Two notable PKR defeats include Baru Bian (Limbang) by 8,301 votes – this can be attributed to widespread money politics which has always been prevalent in Sarawak. Also Badrul Hisham Shaharin, also known as Chegu Bard lost in Sungai Acheh in Penang by 808 votes, thanks to PAS rebels.

State seats won by DAP include Hannah Yeoh (Subang Jaya) by  28,069 votes, Yeo Bee Yin (Damansara Utama) by 30,689 votes, qnd Rajiv Rishyakaran (Bukit Gasing) by 15,842 votes.

Those won by PKR include Elizabeth Wong (Bukit Lanjan) by  17,200 votes and Nik Nazmi (Seri Setia) by  4,663 votes.  Regretably, PAS veep Salahuddin Ayub lost the Nusajaya state seat in Johore by 2,201 votes although Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin (Changkat Jering) did win by 1,170 votes.

Gerakan miraculously is still alive. The sole Gerakan parliamentary seat left is Simpang Renggam in Johor, which was successfully defended by its candidate Liang Teck Meng. It used to have two seats in 2008. At the state level, it won Pemanis in Johore and Tanjong Papat and Elopura in Sabah. 

Teng Chang Yeow who is resigning as Penang BN chairperson lost to PKR's Ong Chin Wen by 5,190 votes.  MCA candidate Lau Chiek Tuan who contested Berapit in Penang lost his deposit – the second MCA candidate to do so.

It is noteworthy to mention that Bernard Dompok, who heads UPKO, lost his seat to PKR greenhorn Ignatius Dorrel Leiking in a three- cornered fight in the Penampang parliamentary constituency. (The third was STAR candidate Melania Annol).

In the brother versus brother electoral battle, PBS president Joseph Pairin Kitingan beat younger brother Jeffrey Kitingan of STAR in the Keningau seat by 346 votes. The former garnered 15,818 votes against the latter’s 11,900. Jeffrey however, won the state seat of Bingkor while Pairin won the state seat of Tambunan – both within the Keningau parliamentary constituency.

My initial comment: The two-party system is here to stay, if there is any consolation at all!

No comments: